The Letter
Free $4.99

The Letter by Ruth Saberton

03/08/2021

Love can last a lifetime and beyond… 


On the eve of the First World War aspiring poet and Lord of the Manor’s heir, Kit Rivers accepts that his duty is to his family and his country. Yet when he falls passionately in love, Kit discovers hard choices must be made when conflict threatens everything he holds dear and shatters his world beyond all recognition.

One century later, newly widowed Chloe Pencarrow exchanges London life for an isolated Cornish house. Haunted by memories, Chloe’s interest in a local war memorial proves a welcome distraction from grief and leads to a fascination with a collection of forgotten poetry. As Chloe’s own story becomes entwined with Kit’s, she finds herself caught in a tangled web of love, loss, and the darkest of secrets…


Shortlisted for the prestigious Winston Graham Historical Fiction Prize 2018, The Letter is a beautiful novel set in England between the First World War and the present day. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, it is a story of family, forbidden love, and long kept secrets. 

***** "One of my books of the year," Being Anne.
***** "Will break your heart and touch your soul." Amazon Vine reviewer.

This suspenseful novel is set in Cornwall and reminiscent of Daphne du Maurier and Rosamunde Pilcher. Romantic and moving, it is a tale of loss and love, the devastation of war and a homage to the lives shattered in the trenches and at home.

A #1 bestseller on Amazon UK, The Letter is a vivid novel of heart-break and passion, with characters - and an ending - the reader won't forget.

Genre:
A story that is not streamlined with a particular genre is listed under others. These books generally have mixed content. Somewhere these books talk about romance and switch to suspense after a couple of pages and many other kinds of content can be expected from these books. Readers who are not too specific about the genre can pick any from others. If you have reading habits and can pick any without being so particular then others section is for you. Selecting a genre-specific book might be a tedious task for you. So just go easy. Happy Reading.

Famous Book Quotes

“Make it a rule never to give a child a book you would not read yourself.” ― George Bernard Shaw

View More