Free $3.99

Falling for a Rake by Eve Pendle

03/20/2021

He's the most notorious rake in England. She's a Perfect Lady. Neither are what they seem.

When Lady Emily is trapped while fern hunting in an old mine shaft overnight with irresistibly sexy Lord Markshall, she indulges in the sin of his delicious, melting kiss. After all, it's just one night... Until the newspaper gossip forces him to propose. Lady Emily can't marry him, but a fake engagement can save her ruined reputation and prevent her scandalous secret from being revealed.

The censure of prim Lady Emily is the ideal way for Lord Markshall to reinforce his image as a scoundrel and a rake. He didn't mean to compromise her, or to be overcome with desire for a clever woman hiding her real self. But to protect her, he'll have to choose: his covert mission or his heart.


Fans of Bridgerton, Courtney Milan, and Sherry Thomas will love this sexy and original historical romance novel!

Tropes:

  • forced proximity
  • fake engagement
  • opposites attract
  • enemies to lovers


  • Characters: rake hero; perfect socialite heroine;
  • Setting: mid-Victorian England
  • Feel: angsty; political; all-the-feels; passionate; hiding in plain sight;
  • Heat level: medium-high
  • Length: 71,000 words


The Fallen Series:

  1. Falling for a Rake
  2. Once a Fallen Lady
  3. Catch a Falling Duke


Read with confidence - Happily Ever After ending

Genre:
Book Length: