A Strange Beginning
Free $3.99

A Strange Beginning by Gretta Curran Browne

02/06/2020
He was later to become known as "The most beautiful and most famous man in England" -- but not yet.... As a boy he thought his name was George Gordon, but that wasn't true. He thought he would grow up poor, but that also wasn't true. Long before he rose from obscurity to poetic stardom and became Britain's first superstar, he had learned that his true surname was Byron Although presented in Novel form and cloaked in the style of fiction,, this is the true and meticulously researched story of the most iconic superstar of his time - Lord Byron. Ignoring all the old and unproven rumours and sensational scandals fabricated at the time of the 19th Century, which have been regurgitated by biographers every generation - all the events in this book come from the people who physically were THERE with Byron at the time. If they were not there, or did not write about it, or did not see the events as eyewitnesses - they are NOT included in this book. Beginning when he is a boy of ten years old, we join George Gordon when he is living a miserable life with his manic Scottish mother in a few rented rooms above a shop in Aberdeen, unaware that his true heritage is with the English aristocracy - who soon come to claim him. A life of wealth and privilege is then bestowed upon him, which eventually sets the stage for him to prove his own individual worth, in his own way, and in his own time. Meticulously researched, and adapted into novel form, 'A Strange Beginning' is the first of a series of books about the most iconic young man of his time, whose fame still lives on today. "My name alone shall be my epitaph." -- BYRON * * * "Will seduce the reader right off the bat." -- Perfect for fans of POLDARK and DOWNTON ABBEY - Readers' Favorite Book Award Winner. Finalist in the IAN BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD for Outstanding Historical Fiction
Genre: ,
Historical fiction is a literary genre in which the narrative takes place in the past. Historical books capture the particulars of the time as correctly as possible to get authenticities, such as societal norms, ways, habits, and traditions. Historical fiction is put in a real location during a culturally recognizable moment. The facts and the actions from the narrative can be a mixture of real occasions and ones in the writer's creativity as they fill in the gaps. Characters may be pure fiction or based on actual people. But what about them and their look and attitudes, how they talk, and issues that they face, everything which should match the era.

Famous Book Quotes

“I cannot sleep unless I am surrounded by books.” ― Jorge Luis Borges

View More